May. 01, 1986
Your rating: 0
0 0 votes

Seasons and episodes

1Season 1 May. 01, 1986
2Season 2 Jan. 08, 1987
3Season 3 Sep. 06, 1987
4Season 4 Nov. 20, 1988
5Season 5 Sep. 10, 1989
6Season 6 Sep. 09, 1990
7Season 7 Sep. 01, 1991


Bread is a British television sitcom, written by Carla Lane, produced by the BBC and screened on BBC1 from 1 May 1986 to 3 November 1991.

The series focused on the devoutly-Catholic and extended Boswell family of Liverpool, in the district of Dingle, led by its matriarch Nellie through a number of ups and downs as they tried to make their way through life in Thatcher’s Britain with no visible means of support. The street shown at the start of each programme is Elswick Street. A family called Boswell had also featured in Lane’s earlier sitcom The Liver Birds and Lane admitted in interviews that the two families were probably related.

Nellie’s feckless and estranged husband, Freddie, left her for another woman known as ‘Lilo Lill’. Her children Joey, Jack, Adrian, Aveline and Billy continued to live in the family home in Kelsall Street and contributed money to the central family fund, largely through benefit fraud and the sale of stolen goods.

Original title Bread
TMDb Rating 7.8 6 votes
First air date May. 01, 1986
Last air date Nov. 03, 1991
Seasons 7
Episodes 74
Average Duration 30 minutes

Similar titles

The Trip
No Offence
Moone Boy
Catherine Tate’s Nan
3rd Rock from the Sun
The Mistress
That Mitchell and Webb Look
A Fine Romance
The McCarthys