Citizen Smith

Citizen Smith

Apr. 12, 1977
Your rating: 0
0 0 votes

Seasons and episodes

1Season 1 Nov. 03, 1977
2Season 2 Dec. 01, 1978
3Season 3 Sep. 20, 1979
4Season 4 May. 23, 1980


Citizen Smith is a British television sitcom. The show was written by John Sullivan, who later wrote Only Fools and Horses. The pilot was transmitted on 12 April 1977 in the Comedy Special series of one-off plays, and the series proper ran from 3 November 1977 to 31 December 1980. Citizen Smith starred Robert Lindsay as “Wolfie” Smith, a young Marxist “urban guerrilla” living in Tooting, South London, who is attempting to emulate his hero Che Guevara. ‘Wolfie’ is a reference to the Irish revolutionary Wolfe Tone who used the pseudonym Citizen Smith in order to evade capture by the English. Wolfie is the self-proclaimed leader of the revolutionary Tooting Popular Front, the goals of which are “Power to the People” and “Freedom for Tooting”. In reality, he is an unemployed dreamer and petty criminal whose plans fall through because of laziness and disorganisation.

Citizen Smith
Citizen Smith
Original title Citizen Smith
First air date Apr. 12, 1977
Last air date Jul. 04, 1980
Seasons 4
Episodes 35
Duration 30m

Similar titles

Lead Balloon
The Wrong Mans
The Inbetweeners
Sammy J & Randy in Ricketts Lane
American Dad!
The Thin Blue Line
Oh No, It’s Selwyn Froggitt!
Lee and Dean
Bad Education
Dear John
Dead Boss
Comments are closed.