Kavanagh QC

Kavanagh QC

Jan. 03, 1995
Your rating: 0
0 0 votes

Seasons and episodes

1Season 1 Jan. 03, 1995
2Season 2 Feb. 26, 1996
3Season 3 Mar. 03, 1997
4Season 4 Mar. 17, 1998
5Season 5 Mar. 08, 1999


Kavanagh QC is a British television series made by Central Television for ITV between 1995 and 2001. It is often repeated on ITV3, and series 1–6 are available on Region 2 DVDs.

The series starred John Thaw as barrister James Kavanagh QC who comes from a working-class upbringing in Bolton, Greater Manchester. This is only discovered in later episodes as his parents’ health deteriorates and through an exchange with a colleague who presumed that Kavanagh was actually a Yorkshireman. The series dealt with his battles in the courtroom as well as his domestic dramas which include the death of his devoted and affectionate wife. Later he begins dating a fellow barrister.

In court Kavanagh is usually seen to be defending a client who seems likely to be convicted until a twist in the case occurs, but occasionally Kavanagh is seen in a prosecuting role. The main plot often features Kavanagh confronting cases with a subtext of racism, sexism or other prejudice. In sub-plots comedy came from the pomposity and self-absorption of Jeremy, a posh barrister in chambers. Kavanagh will not stand for injustice and is never bullied by threats or bribes from those whom he is up against in the courtroom.

Kavanagh QC
Original title Kavanagh QC
First air date Jan. 03, 1995
Seasons 5
Episodes 29
Average Duration 75 minutes

Similar titles

The Hollow Crown
Ripper Street
The Level
Mr. Robot
Janet King
Doctor Doctor
Blue Bloods