Never the Twain

Never the Twain

Sep. 07, 1981
Your rating: 0
0 0 votes

Seasons and episodes

1Season 1 Sep. 07, 1981
2Season 2 Sep. 07, 1982
3Season 3 Oct. 10, 1983
4Season 4 Nov. 08, 1984
5Season 5 Jan. 08, 1986
6Season 6 Jan. 15, 1987
7Season 7 Jan. 27, 1988
8Season 8 Oct. 24, 1988
9Season 9 Sep. 06, 1989
10Season 10 Sep. 05, 1990
11Season 11 Sep. 04, 1991


Never the Twain is a British sitcom that ran for eleven series from 7 September 1981 to 9 October 1991. It was created by Johnnie Mortimer, and was the only sitcom he ever created without his usual writing partner, Brian Cooke. Mortimer wrote the entirety of the first two series and four episodes out of six of the eighth, with the rest being mainly written by Vince Powell and John Kane.

It starred Windsor Davies and Donald Sinden as rival antique dealers, and also starred Robin Kermode, Julia Watson, Honor Blackman, Teddy Turner, Derek Deadman, Maria Charles and Zara Nutley.

It was made by Thames Television for the ITV network. Since it finished, it has been repeated a few times on satellite television: first on UK Gold and later on ITV3.

The title is taken from the Rudyard Kipling poem; The Ballad of East and West.

Original title Never the Twain
TMDb Rating 6 2 votes
First air date Sep. 07, 1981
Last air date Oct. 09, 1991
Seasons 11
Episodes 67
Average Duration 30 minutes

Similar titles

This Time with Alan Partridge
Life of Riley
Young Sheldon
Mork & Mindy
Rings on Their Fingers
The Mighty Boosh
Absolutely Fabulous
Monday Monday
Friday Night Dinner
Bluestone 42
Don’t Wait Up