The Brittas Empire

The Brittas Empire

Jan. 03, 1991
Your rating: 0
0 0 votes

Seasons and episodes

1Season 1 Jan. 03, 1991
2Season 2 Jan. 02, 1992
3Season 3 Jan. 07, 1993
4Season 4 Jan. 10, 1994
5Season 5 Oct. 31, 1994
6Season 6 Feb. 27, 1996
7Season 7 Jan. 06, 1997
8Season 8 Jul. 18, 1997


The Brittas Empire is a British sitcom created and originally written by Andrew Norriss and Richard Fegen. Chris Barrie plays Gordon Brittas, the well-meaning but incompetent manager of Whitbury New Town Leisure Centre.

The show ran for seven series and 53 episodes — including two Christmas specials — from 1991 to 1997 on BBC1. Norriss and Fegen wrote the first five series, after which they left the show.

The Brittas Empire enjoyed a long and successful run throughout the 1990s, and gained itself large mainstream audiences. In 2004 the show came 47th on the BBC’s Britain’s Best Sitcom poll, and all series have been released on DVD.

The creators Andrew Norriss and Richard Fegen often combine farce with either surreal or dramatic elements in episodes. For example in the first series, the leisure centre prepares for a royal visit, only for the doors to seal, the boiler room to flood and a visitor to become electrocuted. Unlike the traditional sitcom, deaths were quite common in The Brittas Empire.

The Brittas Empire
The Brittas Empire
The Brittas Empire
Original title The Brittas Empire
TMDb Rating 7.3 13 votes
First air date Jan. 03, 1991
Last air date Aug. 29, 1997
Seasons 8
Episodes 60
Average Duration 30 minutes

Similar titles

Fancy Boy
Still Game
Friday Night Dinner
One Foot in the Grave
The Thick of It
Would I Lie to You?
15 Storeys High
Don’t Drink The Water
Moving Wallpaper
A Touch of Cloth