The New Statesman

The New Statesman

Sep. 13, 1987
Your rating: 0
0 0 votes

Seasons and episodes

1Season 1 Sep. 13, 1987
2Season 2 Jan. 15, 1989
3Season 3 Jan. 06, 1991
4Season 4 Nov. 22, 1992


The New Statesman is a British sitcom of the late 1980s and early 1990s satirising the Conservative government of the time. It was written by Laurence Marks and Maurice Gran at the request of, and as a starring vehicle for, its principal actor, Rik Mayall.

The show’s theme tune is an arrangement by Alan Hawkshaw of part of the Promenade from Pictures at an Exhibition by Russian composer Modest Mussorgsky.

The programme was made by the ITV franchise Yorkshire Television between 1987 and 1992, although the BBC made two special episodes; one in 1988, the other in 1994.

The New Statesman
The New Statesman
Original title The New Statesman
First air date Sep. 13, 1987
Last air date Dec. 26, 1992
Seasons 4
Episodes 26
Duration 30m

Similar titles

Fancy Boy
King of the Hill
Brass Eye
Anger Management
The Job Lot
Last Man Standing
Never the Twain
An Idiot Abroad
Hotel Babylon
Comments are closed.