Yes Minister

Yes Minister

Feb. 25, 1980
Your rating: 0
0 0 votes

Seasons and episodes

1Season 1 Feb. 25, 1980
2Season 2 Feb. 23, 1981
3Season 3 Nov. 11, 1982


Antony Jay


Paul Eddington isJim Hacker
Jim Hacker
Derek Fowlds isBernard Woolley
Bernard Woolley
Diana Hoddinott isAnnie Hacker
Annie Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne isHumphrey Appleby
Humphrey Appleby


Set principally in the private office of a British Cabinet minister in the Department of Administrative Affairs in Whitehall, Yes Minister follows the ministerial career of The Rt Hon Jim Hacker MP, played by Paul Eddington. His various struggles to formulate and enact legislation or effect departmental changes are opposed by the British Civil Service, in particular his Permanent Secretary, Sir Humphrey Appleby, played by Nigel Hawthorne. His Principal Private Secretary Bernard Woolley, played by Derek Fowlds, is usually caught between the two. The sequel, Yes, Prime Minister, continued with the same cast and followed the events of the premiership of Jim Hacker after his unexpected elevation to Number 10 upon the resignation of the previous PM.

Yes Minister
Yes Minister
Yes Minister
Original title Yes Minister
First air date Feb. 25, 1980
Last air date Dec. 23, 1982
Seasons 3
Episodes 21
Duration 30m

Similar titles

Brush Strokes
The Booze Cruise
Wallace and Gromit’s World of Invention
Bless This House
The Librarians
The King of Queens
The IT Crowd
Don’t Drink The Water
The Two of Us
Still Standing
The Dustbinmen
Comments are closed.